10 Jun 2015 Wednesday 21:00
Sala Suggia
Entrada Livre
10 Junho 2015 MAS - SEM - SPM International Meeting 2015
  • Marcus du Sautoy is the Charles Simonyi Professor for the Public Understanding of Science and Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of New College. He is author of three books: The Music of the Primes, Finding Moonshine and most recently The Number Mysteries. He has presented numerous radio and TV series including a four part landmark TV series for the BBC called The Story of Maths, a three part series called The Code and programmes with comedians Alan Davies and Dara O’Briain. In 2009 he was awarded the Royal Society’s Faraday Prize, the UK’s premier award for excellence in communicating science. He received an OBE for services to science in the 2010 New Year’s Honours List.


    The Classical Orchestra of the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto (FEUP) is a project from FEUP’s Cultural Commission, and is mostly comprised of UP community members (students, technicians, teachers, researchers). The artistic direction of the project is entrusted to the conductor José Eduardo Gomes. The debut concert of the FEUP Classical Orchestra took place in December 2013.


    Orquestra Clássica da FEUP

    José Eduardo Gomes direcção musical

    Wolfgang A. Mozart Abertura da ópera A Flauta Mágica

    Jean Sibelius Valsa Triste

    Georges Bizet Suite nº 1 da ópera Carmen

    Franz Lehár Valsa Ouro e Prata

    Piotr Tchaikovski Valsa das Flores, do bailado O Quebra-Nozes



  • Program notes