15 Dec 2017 Friday 21:00
Sala Suggia
Brahms’ Second
Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
15 Dezembro 2017 Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
  • tags:
    Performing Groups
    Baldur Brönnimann
    Sala Suggia

    Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música

    Baldur Brönnimann conducting

    Tasmin Little violin


    Benjamin Britten Concerto para violino e orquestra

    Johannes Brahms Sinfonia nº 2


    An exclusive Chandos artist, with one of the most internationally awarded discographies featuring the great violin concerts of the British repertoire, Tasmin Little makes her debut at Casa da Música with Benjamin Britten’s Violin Concerto. It’s an extremely expressive work that masterfully combines the homage to the masters of the past with the originality of Britten and a genial orchestration.

    The melancholic and pastoral tone of Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 may well be associated with the English landscapes, but this symphony was written in Austria and premiered in Vienna with great success, and is considered one of the great symphonies of the symphonic repertoire ever since.



    “The sound of Tasmin Little was, as always, something wonderful.”– Birmingham Post


    • Baldur Brönnimann
    • Tasmin Little
    • Benjamin Britten
    • Johannes Brahms