• Presentation

    Orquestra Barroca Casa da Música was formed in 2006 to perform Baroque music from a historically-informed perspective.

    Besides regular work with its principal conductor, Laurence Cumming, the orchestra has performed under the direction of conductors Rinaldo Alessandrini, Fabio Biondi, Harry Christophers, Antonio Florio, Paul Hillier, Riccardo Minasi, Andrew Parrott, Christophe Rousset, Daniel Sepec, Andreas Staier and Masaaki Suzuki, accompanying soloists such as Andreas Staier, Roberta Invernizzi and Franco Fagioli and in the company of vocal groups like The Sixteen and Coro Casa da Música. In 2016, OBCM performs for the first time besides soloists Alina Ibragimova and Dmitri Sinkovsky, and celebrates Easter with a concert conceived by the great early music authority Alfredo Bernardini, featuring the bass Peter Kooij. It goes back to the time of Catherine the Great, evoquing the music of St Petersburg court, and joins Coro Casa da Música for a Christmas concert.

    The concerts of OBCM have attracted unanimous critical acclaim from the critics in Portugal and abroad. The orchestra presented the Portuguese premiere of Handel’s opera Ottone and the modern premiere of L’Ippolito by Francisco António de Almeida, in 2012. It has performed in several Portuguese cities and also in Spain (Úbeda y Baeza Early Music Festival), England (Handel Festival in London), and France (Baroque Festivals in Sablé and Ambronay). It joined Coro Casa da Música to perform Christmas Cantatas by Bach in Porto and Ourense. 2015 saw its highly acclaimed debut at Palau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona. Highlights of that same year include the complete Brandenburg Concertos under Laurence Cummings and harpsichord concertos with Andreas Staier.

    OBCM released live CDs including works by Avison, D. Scarlatti, Carlos Seixas, Avondano, Vivaldi, Bach, Muffat, Handel and Haydn, under the direction of some of the most prestigious international conductors.

  • Laurence Cummings

    Principal Conductor

    Laurence Cummings is one of Britain's most versatile exponents of historical performance both as a harpsichord player and a conductor. He was an organ scholar at Christ Church, in Oxford, where he graduated with first class honours. Until 2012 he was Head of Historical Performance at the Royal Academy of Music, which led to both baroque and classical orchestras forming part of the established curriculum. He is now theWilliam Crotch Professorof Historical Performance. He is a trustee of Handel House in London and was also Musical Director of the Tilford Bach Society. Since 1999 he has been Artistic Director of the London Handel Festival and, in 2012, he became Artistic Director of the Göttingen International Handel Festival. He is also principal conductor of Orquestra Barroca Casa da Música.

    He has been conducting opera productions for the English National Opera, the Glyndebourne Festival, the Gothenburg Opera, the Opernhaus Zurich, the

    Garsington Opera, the English Touring Opera, the Opera Theatre Company, the Linbury Theatre Covent Garden, the Royal Academy of Music and also in Croatia, Porto and the US. He regularly conducts the English Concert and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, the Ulster Orchestra, the Hallé Orchestra, the Irish Baroque Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the Britten Sinfonia and the Royal Academy of Music Baroque Orchestra.

    He is responsible for the first recording of Handel’s newly discoveredGloriawith Emma Kirkby and the Royal Academy of Music (BIS) and recital discs of solo harpsichord music, including music by Louis and Francois Couperin (Naxos). He recorded with the Basel Chamber Orchestra for Harmonia Mundi and Sony BMG. He conducts the English Concert and flautist (recorder) Maurice Steger in a disc of Corelli concertos for Harmonia Mundi.

    His current appointments includeL'Incoronazione di Poppea(Opera North) andIndian Queen(English National Opera) as well as commitments to the Royal Northern Sinfonia, English Concert, London Handel Players, Bournemouth Symphony, Royal Scottish National, his collaboration with Casa da Música, in Porto, and the London and Göttingen Handel Festivals.


  • Musicians

    Composition Orquestra Barroca Casa da Música

    • Huw Daniel
      section leader - Violin
    • Reyes Gallardo
    • Ariana Dantas
    • Bárbara Barros
    • Cecília Falcão Coutinho
    • César Nogueira
    • Eujung Anna Ryu
    • Miriam Macaia
    • Prisca Stalmarsky
    • Trevor McTait
    • Raquel Massadas
    • Filipe Quaresma
    • Vanessa Pires
    • José Fidalgo
      double bass
    • Pedro Castro
    • Andreia Carvalho
    • José Rodrigues Gomes
  • Repertoire

      • Ordernar por

    • more
  • Watch & Listen

    Interviews, promotional videos, image galleries and musical excerpts